My Own Personal National Holiday

I get very excited for the Oscars.  You know how people like to take an alternative holiday (by “alternative” I mean anything other than Christmas, because really, Christmas has Best Holiday on lock) and call it their favorite to be quirky and interesting?  HALLOWEEN has the most offenders.  I could care less about Halloween–THE OSCARS: perfection.  I love the anticipation, seeing as many of the films as I can and imagining how one will vie against another.  I love the red carpet, seeing (and of course judging) what the actors are wearing, and rooting for my favorite talents and films to win big.

So, without any further ado, here are my picks for the 83rd Annual Academy Awards:

Best Picture: The King’s Speech
CLEARLY.  Absolutely the best film of the year, and everything I ask a movie to be: uplifting, joyous, captivating, moving, and real.  I also loved The Fighter for many other things I ask a movie to be: wrenching, gripping…and of course captivating, moving and real.  But I just have to hand it to TKS for knocking it the hell out of the park.

Actor in a Leading Role: Colin Firth
CLEARLY.  Also, he’s a dreamboat.

hubba hubba

Actress in a Leading Role: Natalie Portman
There’s buzz that Annette Bening will upset, but I think that’s basically inconceivable.  People went both ways on Black Swan (PUN INTENDED hahaha), and though its missteps were obvious (obviousness being one of them: you have to make me try and think a little, I get it, she’s literally becoming the swan), I really liked the film.  And all that aside, it cannot be denied that Portman gave an incredible performance and deserves the win.

I have it all, bitches.

Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bale
No-brainer.  He completely transforms into Dicky.  Also, even MORE of a dreamboat.

Obivously, not in dreamboat-mode here. Oh hey, Mark!

Actress in a Supporting Role: Melissa Leo
Yes, the ad thing was off-putting and stupid on her part.  Critics have said she should have simply let the Academy judge her on her performance.  They still should.  And if they do, the award is hers.  (Also, let’s not kid ourselves here, members of the Academy don’t judge just based on performance.)  Dark horse would be Hailee Steinfeld.  She did a great job in True Grit, and whoever her stylist/handlers are they are doing a bang-up job because she has looked stunning, fresh, and perfect at every event so far (can’t wait to see what she wears tonight).  Didn’t consider her “supporting” in TG, she was clearly the lead role, but I can understand why she would be billed for this category instead–it gives her a fighting chance.

Animated Feature Film: Toy Story 3
Duh.  Haven’t seen it, but duh.  I also won’t watch TS3 until I see TS2 because I don’t like doing things out of order.  This annoys Russ greatly.

Art Direction: The King’s Speech

Cinematography: True Grit
The film is just stunning.  I really want a win for Roger Deakins–this is his ninth nomination, but it would be his first win.

Costume Design: The King’s Speech
…although I would not mind True Grit pulling a win here.

Directing: Tom Hooper, The King’s Speech
I realize that he has a slim shot, and that most likely it will go to David Fincher for The Social Network, but I’m sticking to my guns and pulling for Hooper anyway.

Pweese? I nice.

Documentary Feature: Inside Job
I haven’t gotten a chance to see this yet and I want to so bad.  I think it has it in the bag.  I did see Exit Through the Gift Shop (meh) and Restrepo (depressing but well done).

Documentary Short Subject: The Warriors of Qiugang
I’m picking this because it is the only nominee I have seen and I like saving the planet.  Yay!

Film Editing: The Social Network
This is 1 of only 2 awards I think TSN should win–loved the pace of this movie, and the jumps between “before and after.”

I'm one snarky lil bastard!

Foreign Language Film: Dogtooth
Again, the only foreign film nominee I have seen, but SEE THIS MOVIE.  It is incredibly disturbing at times (lots of times) but truly an incredible film.  SEE IT.  (p.s….I will try to avoid saying “truly an incredible film” ever again.  God that sounds horribly snotty.)

Makeup: The Wolfman
My pick is based on the fact that, hey it must take a lot of work to dress a guy up like a wolf.  Kudos to you.

Music (Song): “If I Rise” 127 Hours
Sorry Mandy Moore.  Oh hey, girl!

"what the hell."

Music (Score): The King’s Speech

Short Film (Animated): The Lost Thing
Pixar will probaby get it for Night and Day but fuck that they always win (and I thought N&D was dumb, they don’t even have to try hard, seriously).  The Gruffalo could get it too.   Basically, I don’t know if The Lost Thing has a chance but I LOVED it.  Also LOVED Madagascar, carnet de voyage. That too probably won’t win.  Sigh.

I want a lost thing of my very own.

Short Film (Live Action): The Confession
I only saw Wish 143 (available online) but I’m basing this pick off buzz.

Sound Editing: Inception

Sound Mixing: Inception
One of these people is from North Olmsted–woohoo!

Visual Effects: Inception

We've got some double-hotness going on here.

Writing (Adapted Screenplay): The Social Network
The Coen Brothers could pull a win here for True Grit, but this is the other award I think The Social Network should win.

Writing (Original Screenplay): The King’s Speech
Though a win for Christopher Nolan for Inception would be nice with all the snub-talk re: directing category.

Phew, I’m exhausted!  And I’m not even the one slaving away in the kitchen making Oscar night fare (Russ is the one doing that–isn’t he sweet?!)  Pretty soon however I will be dressing up fancy (screw watching the Oscars in your pjs–that’s what every other night is for, I get fancy) and drinking a lot of champagne.  I’d like to start boozing in about…well now…but I can’t because I have a long night ahead of me.  Plus, if I drink too much champagne I face a possible repeat of New Year’s which means I will fall off my neighbor’s porch into their flowerbeds.  And they’re not having a party tonight so it would be especially uncouth.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Own Personal National Holiday

  1. Wendy

    I swear, I did not know you were an Oscarphile… me, too! Only problem for me is that I will be exhausted tomorrow… totally worth it, however. ENJOY! Wendy

Leave a Reply

