Dragon McBeal

…will be the name of my first born.  Just kidding.

I’m currently watching Dragonslayer (1981).  I am doing so because first of all, Netflix instant movies now stream to your TV (instantly) via a Wii:  this is just fucking awesome.  Secondly, someone told me to watch it.  A while ago I was working on an exhibition which involved interviewing the artists and taping these interviews to be archived.

I interviewed Robert Banks, Jr., a filmmaker.  (You can see some of his work here: http://www.opensewer.com/banks/main.htm –I recommend Motion Picture Genocide.)  At the end of the interview (which was intelligent and serious and art-y, etc.) I simply could not resist asking (acknowledging he probably gets asked this a LOT) “What is your favorite movie??” Robert didn’t mind; he said he’d name his top five.  This turned into a list of ten or so, which I furiously scribbled on the back of my notes.  Dragonslayer was one of them.  And the Mad Max movies (which I have also since seen because of Robert: I LOVE THESE MOVIES.), The Hospital, A Clockwork Orange, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Looking for Mr. Goodbar, and more I can’t remember right now.  Don’t worry I still have the list.

Virgins: part of a well-balanced dragon diet.

My first observation about Dragonslayer is that Peter MacNichol cute-peaked too early.  I seriously didn’t even recognize him because when I think of Peter MacNichol I think of John Cage from Ally McBeal.  (Oh another one: Jonathan Taylor Thomas, also a too-early-cute-peaker.)

Before and After

I was a pretty die-hard Ally McBeal watcher, and I loved Cage and Nelle.  And of course Cage’s pet frogs.  And Ally.  My famously wonderful high school English teacher used to call me Ally McBeal because he thought that I looked like her.  That would be great if I did, but I must admit that he also thought a guy in our class looked like Ellen DeGeneres and referred to him as “Ellen.”  This made being called “McBeal” a lot less cool.

Kicking court room ass in a miniskirt since 1997.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

